From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Trouble brewing!

Actually, there was no trouble but it's OK for a title!

I had booked the day off having decided to join Frank and John on a trip to the Two Towers brewery in Hockley and caught the bus into Brum at 11:40. I was a bit late leaving the house as I got talking on the phone to Mom and nearly missed the bus. I was really lucky as everyone getting on it along the bus route was moaning that there had been no buses at all for over half an hour. Anyway, as usual, I was miles too early so went to the cashpoint - I had Scottish notes but wasn't going to take any chances in Hockley - and went to the chemist for water and tissues. I then had loads of time for picture taking around the cathedral and Snow Hill Station where I was due to meet Frank and John.

We went to Costa Coffee where I had mince pie and hot chocolate. We caught the tram from Snow Hill to St Paul's Square. It was only a couple of stops but it saved us getting lost walking down there. The Two Towers micro brewery was housed in an old warehouse and there were about ten of us on the tour. It was a fascinating day and believe me I could write for hours about hops and grains as well as lots of bits of Brum history, most of which I knew but I learned a few things. It was a bit like the CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) tasting course I went on years ago when I had joined CAMRA aged 18.

It was a very funny afternoon and I had about three pints in total which wasn't bad. Frank, John and I then wandered out into a pitch black Hockley where we went to the Brown Lion which sold Two Towers beer. The pub is now Asian owned, as are most businesses on that side of the city so was a bit different to how I remembered it from years before when it was just an old fashioned pub with faded carpets and flowery wallpaper etc. It is now the era of disco lights, loud music and Sky TV. Maybe I am too old for modern living but I miss the traditional pubs with character and fireplaces where you didn't have to shout to be heard. Maybe I just like talking too much and should shut up and be happy to soak up this new errrrr...atmosphere.

We had a couple of pints and then Frank got his 7:30 train back to Stratford and John waved me off onto my 60 bus back to Sheldon before heading to his bus stop. That was it! A busy and very different Friday. It's nice to see wonderful brewing in action these days. Micro brewing and real ale is becoming very popular. That is great news, I think. At least some old traditions are thriving in a new way. I suppose we have to move with the times and lump everything else even if we aren't keen. This is a little tinged with sadness as I don't think everything modern is good.

My picture is of John and Frank with Mark (the chief brewer and our tutor for the day) in the middle.

Track? My favourite Sensational Alex Harvey Band number - Gambling Bar Room Blues

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.