Mikey88

By Mikey88

Choir

After complaining about lack of photographic opportunities yesterday, I was struggling to choose a blip from all the pictures which I took today!

It was pretty horrible this morning when I took my daughter to work, but I decided to go down to the river anyway. I arrived and it was still raining - the sort of rain that comes when the bottom of the clouds are touching the tops of the trees. I decided not to do the walk, but to try and capture the muted colours of the trees, and this worked very well - all without getting out of the car.

In the afternoon, Mrs Mikey's choir was performing at Buckland Abbey and this is the picture which I have blipped. For those of you unfamiliar with it, Buckland Abbey is a National Trust property which was the home of Sir Francis Drake of Spanish Armada fame. They have an enormous tithe barn and the Trust have booked local choirs to perform in the run up to Christmas.

The dim lighting made for a beautiful atmosphere and they filled the barn with sound. People hearing it from outside came in to listen and there was quite a good crowd for the last Saturday before Christmas.

During the second set, I walked around the grounds, using my macro lens and getting some nice shots of the last flowers, some berries and some grasses. As I said, lots of choices. The voices from inside the barn sounded ethereal and could understand people going in to listen.

As I write this, the skies have cleared and the temperature is dropping. I have the feeling that I will be scraping the windscreen when I go to collect my daughter in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.