Strong women

While I have my Malayalam lesson Sona’s family all watch on (with the exception of the father who I suspect is usually drunk or asleep somewhere). The background and their setting pale in comparison with these strong women. Marya the grandmother, Sonia the elder sister who hopes to study Marine biology at college (who knows if she will have to support this family soon or be married off), and Elizabeth the mother who is beautiful and remarkably talented. When I am teaching Sona some French or a little Spanish which I do in very small part from time to time it is Elizabeth who grasps it. In another context, another life, another time what might she have been. Who knows and what strength she brings to this family. We laugh a lot together. Laughter is the same in any language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.