Kevin's take on life

By KevinV

Ice storm - the destruction

On Friday we started getting a ice storm that has finally finished today. That was 2 days of freezing rain. There was reports on the news that this could be bad, however when I awoke this morning I heard several trees breaking and falling due to the heavy ice. Most of the trees in the front of my building have been damaged from all the ice. I spent part of the morning outside taking pictures as the freezing rain continued to fall, watching the destruction of the urban jungle made me quite sad, herring also that many people across the city have been without power and telephone services. This is going to take a long time to clean up.

They have been calling for strong winds tonight however I am hoping that this does not happen or more damage is going to occur. I took a walk down to the park this afternoon and many areas that I have taken pictures from in the past have been damaged the walking path littered with down trees.

Later after taking an hour to free my van of ice I took a trip out bring very watchful of falling tree limbs. In two cases I watched the limbs break and fall however I stayed far enough away. The road in front of my building is partly blocked due to downed trees.

I have posted many photos today of the ice on my Flickr account

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.