Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Traditions

Food. From someone who does not like to cook (as some of you know). Today I made Limpa bread (Swedish rye) and meatless meatballs. (Our family now calls these “faux balls”!) The cardamom coffee braid is from yesterday. Because this is part of the Swedish Christmas Eve supper that I grew up with and I like the connection to my Mom and Dad and Aunts and Uncles, I’m willing to do some of this even tho I keep threatening to quit. A few traditions are good. Of course, Mom’s meatballs were real and Dad’s contribution was super strong alcoholic Glogg which we abandoned long ago, but still, there are traditions. The pickled herring is easy. Bless our son and daughter in law for having us to their house with the bunch of very loud overly excited kids with too many presents, checking the internet to see where in the world Santa was every 20 minutes, and bless my other daughter in law for making (surprise!) the traditional rice pudding, the best I’ve ever had. Tomorrow morning we will enjoy some quiet time...:-) and maybe even fit in a movie! No cooking!

I wish everyone who celebrates this holiday a very merry christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.