Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Salty fish Xmas dinner

I don’t do the wok thing every day, mainly because I end up eating way too much. But, a girl wished me merry Christmas this morning, so I decided to make an effort and save the noodles for another day.

I chose ikan asin (fish salty) because it smells bad. When I cooked the squid a few days ago, the land lady came into my room, feigned a choke and complained about the smell. Of course it smelled, I was cooking squid, rotting dried fish and garlic. I will write an article about the odious woman soon, but not on Xmas day. Enough to say that relations have broken down.

Fish – shallow fry
Root – boiled, thick slice and shallow fry
Garlic – rough chop and shallow fry
Beans – boil until start to soften
Cabbage – blanch
Pepper – de-seed
Onion – finely chop

The shallow fry done all together with as little olive oil as possible. Then the rest added for a stirfry.

Very healthy, lots of green vitamins, roughage and omegas. I had protein for breakfast, so a well balanced intake today. Looks like a lot of food, but probably used less than half, lots left for tomorrow. I over boiled the root, but it was not too bad. Better under done than over done though.

The fish was a highly flavored munch. They may be small, but armed to the gills with spines. I am still learning which bits to pull out first. Tedious, but I will persist for a few more goes.

Seasonal jollifications to you all and hope you are looking forward to the new year as much as I am.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.