Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Walking sticks - two new acquisitions

My collection of rabology has grown to nine sticks now. These two fine ones were added this Christmas season. The one on the left is a modern reproduction of a classic gentleman's stick and is a Christmas gift from my wife. I love it and will use it often.

The one on the right is one I bought for myself, yesterday, at an antiques mall near Barrie, Ontario. It is a gift to myself for completing my Master's degree. It's a few weeks early, but nice, old sticks at a reasonable price are rare finds. This one is gold-plated (10 karet, I think) and the engravings are deep and sharp (and need of a bit of cleaning with a toothbrush). The stick is a bit worn and it has the original tip or, certainly, a very old one. The story that came with it was that it was acquired at a old hotel auction in Hamilton, Ontario and it had an umbrella mate. The seller said they were circa 1923. The ornamentation is about right for that period. I'll have to do a bit of digging to find out more. It looks American or English. I will use this sparingly and not in winter. Its tip is insufficient for gripping and I don't want the tip damaged by salt on the sidewalks.

UPDATE 1: My query to a Silver & Gold hallmarks forum has netted some more info. The hallmark is a stylized S used by Simons Brothers of Philadelphia, USA. They are still in business and I've dashed off an e-mail to them to see if they reply. Meanwhile, more digging.

UPDATE 2: The handle type is called a square crook. A similar one with the number 200 next to it appears on an 1890 flyer for The Goldsmiths' Stock Company of Canada, Limited, 48 Yonge Street, Toronto. They may have been a Canadian distributor or user of Simons' cane heads. The flyer also says "Gold Head Canes" with prices. Mine is a 7/8" which retailed then at $18.00 for a 12 karat or $21 for a 14 karat. Interesting. More digging...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.