The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Galloway Bay

There have been a lot of cow blips in 2013 in this journal, but this is the first one where I have managed to get a backdrop of Morecambe Bay. Here at Far Arnside, the belted galloway cow rejected the New Year's Eve overtures of the bull and headed off downslope.

I spotted these two silhouetted against the bay under a big ash tree as I headed out to give Gus a run on the little beach in the dip at Far Arnside. A few minutes later, and yet again the sun dropped into the big bank of cloud hovering over the Irish Sea beyond the Bay.

Yesterday our nephew Jamie had a bad accident when skiing in Austria. He was in intensive care overnight, though there has been encouraging news since. Fingers crossed.

As for our Gus, he is fit and well today, we had been concerned he might have put one of the discs out in his back, but maybe it was just a muscle pull.

This is an early blip for me as we are going round to Mags' place this evening. So to anyone reading this, a Happy New Year to you, and here's to the new Blipyear too. I've renewed my subscription, so that's me committed for another year.

I have also loaded a backblip for 27 December that marks the anniversary of Gus's arrival in Arnside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.