There Goes Another Year

Whoosh. That flew past quickly.

This has been a difficult and a frustrating year in many ways. I turned back to last year's New Year's Eve blip and found that I was saying the same things then that I was about to say now. Circumstances have not changed as quickly as I had hoped. I think I've gone with the flow. The trouble is being caught in some brackish water. I've got to get back into the current.

Last year I talked about the saving graces of having rediscovered my passion for photography and finding someone with whom to share that passion. Those have remained the great graces of my life this year. My love affairs have continued - although I dearly wish I had more time to devote to them.

2013 will be remembered most for my discovery of street portraiture. This time last year it was something that other people did and I looked on with envy. I never thought I would have the confidence to approach strangers on the street and ask if I could take their photograph. What a difference a year makes. I must by now have taken over five hundred portraits on the street. And, best of all, I've met some really wonderful people in the process. If you're interested you can meet many of them here. I never intended this second journal to be filled every day but it's turning out that way. I find it very hard to pass up an interesting face and once you start looking they are everywhere. It's fitting then that I end the year with a portrait from Market Square. Peter was standing at a bus stop. It's a great place to strike up a conversation. He was very friendly but a little ill at ease before the camera. His eyes didn't want to look into the lens!

Roam is still unwell so we're having a quiet evening in tonight. He's never watched "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" so we're adding this vital missing piece to his movie education. Happy New Year everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.