A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

"Liquid sunshine!"

'Liquid sunshine'- that was my favourite octagenarian's verdict on the Revenge Port.

I have been carrying the Revenge Port around for thirty years. It has lived in five houses, and once spent six months in storage. (On its side, of course).

Why Revenge Port, I hear you ask?

Well, once it was just a common-or-garden Wedding Present that I gave to my new husband when we married thirty years ago. But when, fifteen years later, he did a runner with Another Woman, I told him very firmly that he didn't deserve to take the port with him.

So it stayed with us.

And we and the port bloomed and blossomed together and reached a happy maturity. And on special occasions - like this New Year's Eve - we carefully decant it and cheerfully drink it and remember once again that life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.

And this is often a Good Thing.

What revenge could be more perfect?

Happy New Year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.