bucks life

By bucksmiss

Damp New Years Day 2014

A reflective view of the receding flood waters on the Castlethorpe water meadows on New Years Day. We are visited surprisingly often these days by white egrets previously unknown in this area and I spotted a couple strutting peacefully about on my way home from coffee-ing today.

After an alcohol free evening (was driving), I decided to implement my new word for the year 'present', to seize the day and get out of my toasty warm flannel bedding to walk Lottie dog in the only rainless hour of the day at 9am. She had a great run and I got the joints moving.

After a warming shower I skyped with one of my brothers who lives on the other side of the world in Perth, Australia (mid summer and 35 degrees there) to wish the family a very Happy New Year. This was followed by a welcome chinwag and coffee in Stony with Banger (my stepmum).

I'm now boiling a juicy gammon to make a maple syrup glazed ham to enjoy for the rest of the week - cunningly booked off work in anticipation of the usual New Years blues. (I am pleased to say my plan is currently having the desired effect of delaying, if not necessarily preventing, their onset!). A positive, uplifting, relaxing first day of what I intend to be a very positive 2014.

Wishing all you guys out there a very happy and prosperous year too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.