Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

RGS 2101 Refrigerator Car

This is a car kit I am building - actually two - from kits. One is numbered 2101 and the other 2103. The RGS actually got these three cars from the Colorado and Southern RR in the early 1900's. They used 2101 until the end. 2102 was also used but met its demise earlier. And 2103 seems to have never made it to the RGS rails. I bought these kits years ago and got 2101 and 2103 preprinted and lettered. Had I known more history, I would have bought 2102 instead of 2103, but so be it. Maybe they actually kept 2103 around. Anyway, I run passenger cars as well in 1950 and that did not happen either. As a model railroad friend said, "it is your world - do what you like".

So I am almost done with construction. There were a multitude of parts to put on the car including grab irons I had to bend and a slew of very tiny parts. PBL made the kit and it is accurate down to the bolts. An impressive kit. So tomorrow I will finish the brake details at one end of the cars. Once all the parts are on, I have to go back and do some touchup painting of parts that I forgot to paint and others I scraped off too much. Then it is off to the spray booth for some weathering.

Finally the cars can start earning their keep hauling beans and fruit from Dolores CO back to Durango from the Montezuma Fruit Company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.