WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Start as you mean to go on

Well, maybe not -- I'm not satisfied with this photo, but at least it's a blip. Today was a grey and dreary day. I went out for a walk at lunchtime and didn't see a soul. I took photos, but my heart wasn't in it because the light was so poor. Although if you look large, you'll see that Notre Dame has its own little ray of sunshine as usual.

Meanwhile S got up at 7 am to do the walk he will be leading on Sunday (after several months of not walking because of his knee). At the end of his walk (judged too short and not demanding enough) he went to Collioure and emailed me a photo of the beach under a beautiful blue sky, with people sitting at cafe tables outside. Sigh.

Still, it wasn't all bad! I made a sourdough loaf, and baked an apple cake from my new baking book (a Christmas present to myself). Later I popped round to thank the kind donors of the bottle of champagne and had coffee and a chat. We had beef stroganoff for dinner (the steak I bought yesterday was so big there was some left over). And we ended the evening researching places to go in Spain in March and April -- somewhere in Valencia, but it's a big province.

Happy New Year to all my blipmates! It's been fun looking at all the festivities around the world, virtually enjoying them without the hangover :)

PS last year was another grey day but featured one of those lovely serendipitous blip moments. -------------->

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.