just allan

By allan

Another Brick In The Wall

This is admittedly a bit strange! Via Facebook and cycling I know the guy who keeps the Scottish Brick Spotting website. Other people keep their eyes open for him and a picture of a brick marked "M. B. SHERRIFF DUNBAR" appeared. After a bit of chat, it transpired that the "Seafield Brick and Tile Works" was located right next to my house from about 1800-1890. So, I decided to take a walk and look out for Dunbar bricks!

It completely changed the way I look at my local area. I suddenly noticed all the piles of overgrown rubble, mostly bulldozed into neat features but also clearly used to build the sea wall. And embedded in the wall are a few Dunbar Bricks!

You can just see the letters "SHERR" on top and "UNB" below.

So, although this isn't a great photo and you can hardly make out the lettering, it's certainly the one to choose for today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.