just allan

By allan

Tide Span

Nature aligned perfectly for us at Belhaven, East Lothian this evening. Quite wonderfully, the very high spring tide coincided with the sunset, giving us an unexpected spectacle at the end of a drizzly day.

The Belhaven "Bridge to Nowhere" is always submerged at high tide, but today is the highest I've seen. The sunset is now more or less at it's farthest south only 2 weeks after the winter solstice, bringing Traprain Law to the south west into the frame. In June I'll be pointing north west towards the Bass Rock at sunset. The difference never ceases to amaze and fascinate me.

This scene was so lovely, the photo took almost no effort - But since I realised the sky had cleared just before the sunset I had to cycle to the bay, run along the golf course path, scramble down the steep slope to the water's edge to take 100-ish photos... Apart from that I did hardly anything to this - it really was stunning!

In the car-park there were a lot more people than normal sat in their cars "enjoying" the scene and on the shore by the car-park there were fishermen and a few cameras. On the golf course path where I was deliberately aligned with the sunset, there was one (count 'em!) one other photographer. And he was *on* the path. Nobody else climbed down to align the bridge with the shore as I have here. It always amazes me that people can be bothered to go to great locations but can't be bothered to walk (or run!) a few hundred yards from their cars to the best vantage point. Ah well, their loss.

In the morning the younger children and I walked to Dunbar with our friends Sally and her collie Meg. Lovely, warm company but chilly drizzly weather! Katie kept herself warm chasing Meg and we had a series of "wow, what a lovely dog..." chats as we walked along the High Street. What a brilliant morning.

Home for hot left-over soup and a lazy afternoon with the newspaper for me and films for the children - recharging before school and work in 2 big sleeps!

So, another lovely day. 2014's looking good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.