A daily glimpse

Phew.

One thousand. Who'd've thought?

I discovered blip through The List magazine. I'm eternally grateful to that magazine.

I've just looked through the last 999 blips to see if, as I speculated at the outset, I can recall each day. Some, I recall vividly, and others, the text means nothing, it's only the blip that I recognise.

But they're all a reminder; a reminder of all the holidays, concerts, nights out and nights in. Friends, family, work, weddings, new babies, good days and bad days, are all there. The posh parties, the very posh parties and the nights slumming-it.

It's an outlet; to rant (which I often do), express myself, record the mundane and the epic.

I didn't think that I had improved much in my photography. But looking through my 999 blips , well, maybe they got a wee bit better.

I decided to get a phone with a camera in late 2006 because I'd lurked about here and soon realised that I needed to join this community. A few hundred blips later and I wanted a camera that would take better photos.

But that's not why I am here. I have always loved looking at good photos, but emulating them was never that important.

On blipfoto the quality is truly exceptional. Every day on this site I see astoundingly great photos. But despite that, blippers like me can still feel like they "fit in".

Looking at great photos is only part of this site. I have had an insight into lives around the world, in exotic locations and a couple of streets away from where I live. Reading blippers' views and opinions on various issues, I have discovered websites, writers and musicians through this site. (A song that's now become one of my favourites? Well, I discovered it here!)

I am delighted that I live in city that is the "home" of blipfoto because it means that I have had the good fortune to meet a few of the folks in this community. All fantastic folk, and my enjoyment of this site has been further enhanced by getting to know some of them.

I thought about linking to some of the blips that I think are wonderful - but there are so many. Have a look on my about page and see who I have given "hearts" to.

When I looked through my 999 preceding blips, there was about 30 that I was going to link to. But then, I reckoned, if you're really that interested you could trawl back ( Maybe I'll put some links in later.)

The biggest thanks goes, of course, to Joe (and co). I know it's all been said before; but he's come up with a fantastic website. It may run away with a hell of a lot of my time....but, you know what? I can't think of anything I'd rather do with those hours.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.