Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

An African connection

Oh, it's so nice to be home! Although the first thing I thought of was, 'What on earth am I going to blip, as amazing scenes will not be passing me all day here'...

Our shower seems like a warm waterfall. Bliss. We had perfectly good showers all the way, but usually tepid, and a mere trickle as, of course, water is such a precious resource in Africa.

I was up early to potter about, searching for the card reader that I knew I had - my camera connections being in the luggage, which of course is (hopefully) winging its way home as we speak. Spent time sorting through the many photos. I also had some nice mature cheddar for a treat.

I was eager to set about the Christmas trees that I'd collected yesterday. I've now got a half a shed load of kindling to dry for next winter. It's a bit like shearing a sheep, I imagine, bending over the tree, starting at the small branches at the top, and ending up with a sheared trunk. Quite satisfying.

The coffee machine has been given a good workout today, although we had good coffee - Tanzania grows and exports coffee - most days, even on safari. Marco, bless him, made us a coffee every lunchtime.

JR has been foraging in Waitrose and came back with lots of goodies, including these roses from Kenya. Tanzania also exports roses.

Now reading the papers, wifi sound system on, fire blazing, TV about to be put on.

Did I mention how nice it is to be home?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.