Old pipes

"But why didn't you share them?"

"Well, firstly there's too many of them. Might have been a bit overwhelming. And they may not be that good anyway."

"Yes, so what? What did you make all those paintings for anyway? To lock them up in some secret cupboard?"

"No, not that. I painted them because I wanted to. Because the process of making them obfuscates everything from my mind."

"Fine, point taken. But I don't think it is just that. Are you worried they may not be appreciated?"

"Well, there is a lot of thought and feeling that goes into the whole thing. You try and say so much...I mean, it is one of the things I do that I truly care about. What else do we have left, if there's nothing to care for?"

"So, you're essentially saying, that your feelings will be trampled over?"

"No, it's not that. Sharing something creates some hope to elicit a response. It is almost like an imposition upon the viewer. I like art to be quiet. Not shout look-at-me-look-at-me. If it is good enough, it will be looked at sometime."

"Hadn't it occured to you, that people might actually want to see them? And perhaps these paintings can add some value to their lives?"

"Well, one day, when they are good enough, I will share."

"You're still holding something back."

P.S. Forgot to change the white balance from yesterday. Decided to leave it like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.