SpeckledCoast

By SpeckledCoast

Memories

An expedition to the loft today to stow away Christmas decorations for this year was a golden opportunity to review some long lost items.

This tiny violin was last played too many years for me to remember but it was my son's first instrument that he began to play at 5 years old. M went on to study classical music and eventually became a music teacher so I think the knowledge at such an early age has served him well.

I believe the violin is a quarter size, all 41 cms of it. The white stripes across the neck served as markers to teach M where to place his fingers to achieve certain notes. (A third one dropped off as I lifted the violin from its case.)

My Sound Illustration Challenge today brings memories from the archives of my mind of the sound coming from M's bedroom of the early tunes he practised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.