Skyroad

By Skyroad

Goodbye Windows

I am drawn to overlooked (or anyway unremarked) corners of my borough, such as this house on the corner of Eblana Avenue and Marine Road, which I notice is now undergoing some kind of building/renovation (note the builder in one of the upper windows). These four odd windows on the Eblana Road side face the back of the St. Michael’s Church. I have photographed them several times over the years, as has at least one other Dublin photographer. I love the apparent arbitrariness, the way they are different sizes yet hang together, like a group of paintings. They have an eccentricity, a personality that is rare in any building.

Anyway this will probably be the last shot I take of them, as they have already been partly renovated, along with the rest of the house. No doubt the job needed doing, but I suspect this particular little composition will have lost a good part of what makes it interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.