Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Ice, Ice and More Ice

The boss somehow scored some tickets to the 50th Annual Harbin Ice and Snow Festival. From what I understand, it's the largest ice park in the world. Everything you see in this picture except for the people and a few snow sculptures in the bottom right, is made of ice.. The tall 'building' in the middle is 48 meters high.

Inside the park is simply amazing. If you can imagine lots of tall buildings, some of which are replicas (or part replicas) of world famous places. You can see part of the Colosseum on the right of the pictures.. If you can also imagine the most intricate table mounted ice sculpture you have seen and then imagine that same thing 3 meters tall, then you have some idea of what else we saw at the park. Inside the park there were also lots of snow sculptures, the biggest of high was a 30 meter high Buddha made entirely from snow. To be honest, I don't think you can really imagine the scale of these things.. They are AWESOME!!

ON another note, I haven't been posting pics for a while.. I've been really busy and have also had problems getting my pics off my camera and onto the computer. I'll sort that out when I get home to Shenyang in a couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.