nummelin

By nummelin

Fixing

What you are seeing is the backside of a center of a steering wheel.

On 4th of January I blipped a photo of my car which had been broken into. Little arsehat broke the center of the steering wheel, and because my car is exceedingly rare and 23 years old, I can't find a new steering wheel for it anywhere. I browsed through several webshops and auction sites finding nothing that could be of any help. So next, I'm trying to scan the intact half of the steering wheel center with a 3D scanner, then use the resulting stereolithography file as a starting point for modeling a new wheel center, 3D-print the new wheel center in ABS plastic and then reinforce it with fiberglass and paint it gray.

It just seems the shape of the centerpiece could be too complicated for the 3D scanner, but we'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.