andypowe11

By andypowe11

Stonehenge at sunset

Turns out that Stan left his bike helmet and cycling gloves at the pub at the end of our ride on Saturday so I drove back down after work this evening to get them. Timed it so that I got to Stonehenge at about 5. The place shuts at 6 (at the moment) but sunset wasn't until about 20 past. Nonetheless, I got some OK shots and the beauty of going late on a Monday is that the place was very quiet.

We live about an hour's drive from Stonehenge but I haven't been there for about 25 years - a bit longer actually. I suspect it was the Stonehenge Festival of 1981 (this is me) when I was last there properly, though it's possible I've been back once since. In those days you could walk right up to the stones - at least for the summer solstice itself. Then things went a bit pear shaped with the battle of the beanfield and so on. Shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.