Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Garnet Earrings

So, this is the 1095th blip I've uploaded. I believe that bells and whistles will be triggered by this picture, as it, technically, celebrates three years of blipping!

In fact, as with my 1000th blip, it's a bit of a muddle because I haven't yet caught up with my blip uploading backlog. My real 1095th blip is here in case you're interested. There are still gaps to fill before it, but I'm getting there with them - my blip for 1st January this year explains my plans.

So, yesterday wasn't a particularly interesting day as far as photography was concerned. I loaded and unloaded the washing machine a lot, sat with my pile of maths books searching for lost minus signs and working hard on my assignment, triggered a debate on my facebook wall that eventually led to somebody being blocked, drank tea, ate marinated anchovies, played the piano, did some yoga, and took care of the animals. No photos worthy of a blippiversary resulted!

So, last night as I got into bed I looked around the bedroom for something to blip. I took a photo of a little toy dinosaur that we'd bought in Spain a few years ago, but the light wasn't quite right for his colour, then I realized he was sitting on a box containing these earrings!

So here is a pair of garnet earrings. And they aren't just any old earrings (most of my earrings don't live in boxes for a start), they are the earrings I wore for my wedding. So they are a bit special.

Garnet also reminds me of a few other things, including my late great great aunt, whose birthday was January 10th, and who used to tell me how her birthstone was garnet, and a pair of rings the Wonderspouse and I bought each other in Prague - we still have them, although his went missing for around a year at one point and we thought it was completely lost until I defrosted the freezer and found it frozen into a block of ice along with a frozen pea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.