fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

At the Y

Let me say right off that I am not an athletic type of person. I enjoy hiking, bicycling, badminton, canoeing, cross-country skiing - in moderation, that is, er, at least once a year - but, truth to tell, I spend most of my time sitting. Unfortunately, sitting - while conducive to all sorts of pleasurable occupations (eating, reading, driving and watching movies, for example) is not particularly helpful for cardiovascular or physical fitness. And sadly, I seem to have reached the age where my body isn't, you know, reliable.

So now I find the joys of sedentarianism must be actively discouraged, unless I want to end up depending on a scooter and medication to keep me going. And I most emphatically do not want to go down that road, at least not for many years yet, which means I have to choose - CHOOSE, rather than wait to be pushed - to follow a better path. And this is what I must remind myself every morning when I wake up... If I can make it to 21 days in a row, it will become a habit. Here's hoping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.