dunelmian77

By dunelmian77

Durham Cathedral - but smaller!

Today's blip could have been any one of about a dozen of lovely picturesque photos I took of Durham Cathedral today from across the River Wear, near Pimlico.

But this is more special! Dad and I went to the Cathedral this afternoon to buy some Lego. This is part of the Cathedral's Open Treasure project. They're trying to raise £8m (£4m of that is already pledged through the National Lottery) and part of it is raising about £300,000 by charging £1 a brick to add to this 3-metre long model of Durham Cathedral. It's been in progress now since July, and they're just approaching £50,000.

This part will make up the north-west corner of the Cathedral in the Chapel of the Nine Altars. Dad and I only added a few bricks, not the whole of this section!

Made it back to Edinburgh now, and set up my new wireless router as I've moved internet providers while I've been away for one night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.