Centenarian Cinema

It first opened as a cinema in January 1914 and apart from a couple of short breaks in the 1940s and 1980s, it has been showing films ever since. I seem to remember going to see films there in the late 1980s after it had re-opened when the main auditorium had one or two seats covered in animal print fabric, rather than the (blue?) velvet that the rest of them were covered in. If you got in early you could choose to sit on a tiger skin. It seems so strange now I wonder if in fact that was only in my imagination!
This afternoon L and I went to see the Robert Redford film, All Is Lost. A one-man film that kept me gripped right to the end. Earlier we had been to Socrates Cafe, where we discussed what constitutes humour and what distinguishes it from wit and what it would e like if we didn't have a calendar. A couple of interesting topics to start off the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.