Kendall is here

By kendallishere

"Dancing is my ministry."

This lovely young woman was dancing to this song by Mahalia Jackson which she was playing on a small boom box next to Pioneer Square this afternoon. She had no hat out for contributions, and after I watched her for a while and took a few pictures, I waved a dollar at her and called, "Where's your collection box?" She laughed and answered, "I don't do this for money. It's my ministry." You don't see that every day.

I am struck by how much she resembles my dear friend Julia Chere-Masopha, seen here with me and M'e Mpho in Namibia in 1994. She was too busy in her ministry to talk, but I hope I see her again sometime.

I saw August: Osage County today and found it pretty well-done, though Meryl Streep played her character soft and lovable instead of harsh and mean, and I think it would have been a better movie if she'd had more courage to portray the sharp edges. My mom could have given her lessons. She found what there was to love in her character, and maybe that makes it more enjoyable for her audience. Julia Roberts puts in a fine performance, and Chris Cooper almost steals the show and has all the best speeches. His prayer at the table is the funniest scene in the film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.