0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Trying to stay out of the rainy weather this afternoon meant I was confined to the covered streets and arcades in the city. Not a bad thing when you can find strangers such as Fay here.

I caught sight of her deep orange, red hair at the escalators in the Trinity and rushed up to ask for her picture.

“Oh yes, that’s fine, I’m a photographer as well!”

I positioned Fay away from the crowds and into a particularly bright area of the mall, directly under the glass canopy. Even though it was overcast, the light there was particularly nice and realising this through the viewfinder, I decided to go for a close head shot.

I like this shot but would have preferred the focus to be centered on the eyes, and there could be more contrast between the background and subject, given Fay’s pale complexion.

Fay and her boyfriend, who turned up soon after, have both studied photography (he’s more graphic design however). They are thinking of setting up their own business, going freelance. They mentioned the competitive nature of the business and some of the pitfalls they had encountered already. I asked them to keep me informed of how they got on, and wished them the best of luck before saying goodbye.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.