Lyke Wake Walk

A link.

When I was in my early teens my elder brother undertook the Lyke Wake Walk and brought back this mug as a souvenir. I was deeply impressed, and for years afterwards I remembered that my brother achieved something impressive.

Later I joined a mountain club and went out climbing and walking and caving and kayaking. I climbed the Inaccessible Pinnacle, completed the Cumbrian Way and the West Highland Way amongst other wonderful memories. However I always was of the opinion that whatever I did my elder brother had done the Lyke Wake Walk and was therefore worthy of my respect.

By chance the mug came into my possession (my brother cleared his home of many personal possessions before going abroad), and I looked up the details of the challenge.

Oh how the world changes. Forty miles over flattish, boggy ground with minimal navigation and no time limit. How unimpressed am I now with my brother's achievement.

Feet of clay.

But still, he did it and just because things have changed is no reason not to use a good mug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.