keithyboy

By keithyboy

App-y as Larry

Friday is the New Zealand leg of Big Day Out, a large music festival held in NZ and Australia, I am lucky enough to be going to Auckland to check out Pearl Jam, Deftones, Tame Impala and most likely Beady Eye (oasis without Noel Gallagher). In the spirit of being modern, I downloaded the festival application for my phone and iPod. Now instead of wandering around the festival site exploring and probably finding new bands, I can just check the times and locations of everyone I want to see and miss out on new experiences. Gotta love technology.

The iPod app has a nifty little feature I'm a bit unsure I like, it's called song snaps, enabling you to take pictures with the BDO logo stamped across the photo, just in case you forget where you were. Then, you can choose a track by a performer at the festival and share your festival highlights to 30 second music clips. I tried to use this feature for my blip but the pictures you take with the app are too small for blipfoto, this has saved us all from the horror of modern day festival going.

Apps aside, I'm really looking forward to going, it's been a long time since I seen Liam Gallagher in action and a long time since I seen a massive act. All that remains is to see if Liam has managed to find a pilot that doesn't "need stabbing in the head with a f#*%ing pick axe" like the guy he had on oasis' Australasia tour in 1996.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.