Iron Cove Bridges

It was going to be hot today so I decided to head out early for a ride. I grabbed this photo of the bridges at the entrance of Iron Cove. Victoria Road traverses them. The bridge on the right was the second Iron Cove bridge and was opened in 1955. The distinctive piers are said to reflect an Inter-war Art Deco design style (design apparently began in 1942). This structure was later extended to include a fifth lane.

The bridge on the left was opened in January 2011. During its design strong protests were mounted by local residents who were concerned that the bridge would not alleviate traffic congestion in the area.

I took a photo at night from the other side of the bridge last year.

My blip from yesterday seemed to fail to publish - maybe I didn't press the button. You can see it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.