Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Tea-caddy, Istanbul.

EnLarge.

The rain in Istanbul falls mainly on my woollen jumper.

There's something in my brain that prevents me from taking public transport. But not just anti-taxi, which is a common sentiment in many a backpacker's ethos due to the fact that a five minute taxi costs the same as a five hour bus drive.Something in my brain even decides that taking the tram right to my destination is too much of a hassle.

Instead, I walk. Everywhere. Often on an empty stomach, too, as I have commitment issues sitting down at a restaurant.

I could write this differently and say I walk because I don't like to miss out on any photographic opportunities. But the fact that I got the only photo I was happy with at the exact destination I was aiming for, negates that slightly.

I did start to question my 'I'll just walk ' motto, though, when my jumper was so wet I'd might as well have walked to Taksim square in the summer, wrapped in cling-film and wearing three tonne shoes.

Tomorrow night I'll be flying to Tehran. I will update this whenever I can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.