Dream Dancing With the Full Wolf Moon

The song of the dream spinner . . .

I am one who loves the moon.

I sit, entranced, on the top porch step and watch it sail across the sky.

I watch its grand celestial waltz with Jupiter, with the clouds.

I sit too long. I am shivering.

But somehow I can't make myself go back inside.

Instead, I watch, spellbound.

Daydreaming.

Cold but perfectly content.

Spinning my own dreams,

Releasing them with each breath

Into the night sky

To dance with the moon.

The soundtrack: one of the best songs ever written about dreams, Neil Young, After the Gold Rush. And as a bonus, I'm including a version of the same song, performed by Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, and Emmylou Harris, on their album Trio II.

P.S. Did you know that every month's full moon has a name, according to the Farmers' Almanac and ancient Native American lore? Here is a link to a list of the full moon names.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.