Kotare on mudflats

Slept late this morning and chose not to run before the drive to Auckland where I had a busy clinic. Consequently, I did not go out with tsuken, who spotted a group of godwits at the northern end of Snells Beach. He didn't try to get a photo with his iPhone, and later in the day got his blip when he was taken running by Master 6; he actually thought he was going for a walk!

We were visited by friends late this afternoon; they arrived at the same time as I got back from Auckland. It is the first time they have been here since the renovations were finished and were struck by the changes we have made. I was pleased that I have made such a big difference in the garden over the last week.

After they left I went for a short run down to Snells Beach and along the foreshore for a way. The tide was too far out for there to be many waders close enough for me to see them. In the car park at the end of Snells Beach Road, a small boy was throwing food scraps for the Red-Billed Gulls. Their frenetic flying as they tried to be the one that caught the food produced some good pics.

But in the end I chose this photograph of a New Zealand kingfisher, the kotare. There were three or four in the one area, and this one flew away from the rocks to settle out in the middle of the mudflats. I liked the pose, and glint in its eye.

Kotare are common throughout mainland NZ. They have a wide variety of habitats; sheltered coasts and harbours, open farmland, wetlands, lake shores, rivers, and even deep in forests. They are most commonly seen on northern beaches, because of the abundant food supply.

They are wary birds, and it is hard to get close. A long lens is usually necessary, and this was taken with the zoom at 215mm.

I have added three photos to my blipfolio.

Red-Billed Gulls competing for food
A heron hunting for food
A starling grubbing for food

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.