Kayaker on Derby Pond

It is late so this will have to be short...

The day began with fog that finally burned away to lovely sun. I spent the morning doing things on my computer and had a very late breakfast, more like a lunch really. I photographed some birds. They have gotten shyer since I've been trying to keep the seagulls away. They don't recognize that I only chase the gulls and stay away when I'm on the deck with my camera. I did get a few good shots of crows.

Since the day was nice Arvin, Helena and I decided to take a walk in Whatcom Falls Park. We walked our long loop. In the middle of our walk we pass by Derby Pond. As we moved down the creek toward the pond, we kept seeing a kayaker working his way down the creek. When we arrived at the creek he was circling a small island in the pond. Later we saw him portage his kayak down by the large falls and head off beneath them.

When we got back, Arvin took a nap and Helena worked on some cards she is making for friends. I worked on photos until Dave, Nora, Steve and Carroll arrived and we all headed out the Anthony's Home Port for dinner. Yum! Good stuff. I had Mahi Mahi and coconut shrimp. It was delicious. At the end of the meal a desert of gooey chocolate cake and ice cream arrived to celebrate my birthday. It was delicious. We all had a great time.

When we got home, Dave, Nora and Carroll headed home. Steve and I had a game of Carcassonne. By then it was quite late and now it is almost midnight. So here is my blip of the kayaker on Derby Pond. I had trouble choosing between the one here and this one of the kayaker below the upper falls. It was a hard choice.

I won't be doing any commenting tonight. Thanks for all your kind wishes yesterday for my actual birthday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.