WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Magical Mystery Tour

Yesterday, I was asked if I'd like a short notice Magical Mystery Tour.

Indeed, I would!

This morning, I was told there were three parts to the day. On the way, there were a few hiccups but they did give us a chuckle.

- Part 1: M&S (for sandwiches) wasn't open for another hour.
- Part 2: Costa for a coffee (& the now required sandwiches from another location) worked well apart from Rich picked out the last two sandwiches and as he went to pay, they disappeared. After he told the lady serving that someone must have bought them, she said, no, we're cooking them... So we had lunch at 10.30 in the car...
- ...where it was chucking it down. So we went home for waterproof trousers.
- On the way back, I drank my coffee but the cup began a persistent drip in my lap and finally, on a bump in the road, there was a coffee froth explosion over my glasses.

Part 3, and the major part of the MMT, was a walk from Embsay around Crookrise round Upper Barden Reservoir and a circuit home.

It began Sherlock style, shrouded in mist and very atmospheric. We had to take a few boglegs through the muddy ground at the start and end but on the whole it was a beautiful, quiet walk which didn't require waterproof trousers - so it was lucky we returned for them otherwise we would have set off in the rain!

During the last hour, the cloud began to break up and we finished in the golden afternoon light with beautiful blue sky which I have chosen for today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.