Winter Robin

orange breasted
northerners flock
bending and swinging
avian acrobats
plucking red fruit

bittersweet treasure
safe in your beak
you breathe blizzard
blossoming winds
bearing in by the hour



The blizzard warning is on, it smells and looks like snow. The birds all act like something is coming along with the cold. Northern robins , wintering down from Canada are flocking all over the bittersweet bush, plucking and gobbling the berries. Arctic air in place, the snow is coming by afternoon and it will be a wild and frigid night and forenoon tomorrow.

For the Record.
This day came in gray with a blizzard blowing in. Plowable snow that could be over a foot.

All hands not healthy, I've still got my sinus pain.

Updates...

The snow is mounting up quickly, several inches since we made it home from the train. One of my worst drives there ever, the plows had not been out.. took me an hour round trip with white knuckles even in an AWD vehicle., 7 and a half inches already. The winds haven't started blowing yet and it could be -15 F with the wind chill tomorrow morning. T is working from home.

The Saab had been diagnosed with a throttle trouble, the parts will be stuck in the snowstorm, so I don't expect it to be worked on till Thursday at best. The loaner is good, and things are looking up I guess except for our bank account.

I also found a lovely old thistle pin that I lost, and I'm not really one to lose things. It appeared in the dryer when I was taking out the dry duvet covers, so I guess it was lost when I actually put them on. I searched everywhere. Last night it was the lost Leica lens cap that appeared again after I had searched relentlessly. Too bad we didn't lose any $ it might turn up at this rate:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.