twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Back To Normal

For the last six weeks, work has been topsy turvey.

A system failure left a huge amount of work needing done and I with others got drafted in to fire fight. OK, it's not a disaster; my work load has been reduced due to the festive season, but after a few weeks, the drudgery does set in; especially as I chose to move last summer and escape the drudgery by opting for a more mobile / customer facing job.

Yesterday I was back on the bike, out in the 'hood. First time this year. And I came home at lunchtime, so delighted. I hadn't appreciated how much I missed my substantive post. In my diary was one that involved gathering information for judicial procedure - no margin for error, no pressure! and a terminal cancer patient which is never easy. But I loved being out, reacting and interacting.

There's also a social aspect to the job; I know a few people who are dotted about all over town, and depending where your visits are, you can often arrange visits to coincide with lunch breaks near friends homes or work places.

So it was god to catch up with a former colleague yesterday; I used to sit opposite her and this is pretty much how I remember her; eyes down, hair up, focussed, but obscured by IT hardware.

I am so lucky with my job, and it gives endless possibilities for blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.