An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mum and her George Medal...

Thank you so much for all your wonderful birthday messages yesterday. I am so lucky to have so many fantasticl Blip Pals. You are all amazing xxx

I am also so lucky to have received two of the best birthday pressies EVER; My East Neuk Day (which won’t happen till around May. Think I caused some confusion by giving the impression it was happening yesterday) and the DVD of the BBC archive footage of my mum given to me by my stepdad John. I can’t stop watching it.

Although I have a load of press photos from the time, to see it all in moving pictures is incredible. To hear her speak and see her smile, and once again look upon her facial expressions that I know so well and miss so much, is pure joy. And even lovelier to get to see her age 24, two years before I was born.

One of the funniest bits of the dvd is when the BBC interviewer asks her to “Tell us about your daily life as a woman Policeman.” Hahahahahaha…..a woman Policeman! Well seen it was the 1960s!

One part of her story that I didn’t have any photos of, was her outside Buckingham Palace with her medal. Thanks to the wonder of dvd and a fast shutter speed, I do now. Check out the guy in the lum hat! :D

This is my first attempt at cleaning up the shot. Hopefully I will eventually become more skilled with photoshop and get a better result, but this will do for now.

This is all proving quite a distraction as I’m supposed to be doing my Tesco order for the Burns Supper we’re hosting on Saturday night. The delivery guy on Friday is gonna love me when he sees the amount of wine I’ve been told I need to buy. Well there will be 14 of us!

Right, better get on……once I’ve watched the dvd one more time…… ;))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.