Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

One of many people who have tea-ed me.

6.

I took a stroll through Kashan once I had arrived. It was dark already but the long streets were lit by the neon glow of the shop signs. A woman in the distance, wearing a ghostly, black chador, seemed to glide round the corner. I, myself, drew some curious stares.

I glanced into a large shop window and caught the eye of a large man who immediately beckoned me in for tea. The room was clad in wood panelling from floor to ceiling and a group of around eight men were seated in a circle facing an authoritative, old man who wore a trilby. As it turned out, this aged fellow was an estate agent and this was his office. I sat down and the guy who invited me in got straight onto his phone, telling his pal to come down as there was a guy from Scotland in their midst.

His friend, Mansor, arrived soon after and saved my handshake until last: “welcome in Iran”. We talked for a while and he translated some of what his mates were guffawing about and as well as the countless glasses of tea, I was brought local bean and sour yoghurt soup from the shop around the corner.

My new acquaintance and I departed together, as he’d offered me a lift back to my guesthouse. But first he took me to meet his wife and her aunties and cousins. He knocked and opened the door onto a large partition, by way of a sheet, which stops the women being caught off guard by a male visitor such as myself. It was very different to the private gatherings in Tehran.

We stepped into the living room, the floor of which was a gargantuan Persian rug. His wife and her relatives, some elderly, were sat on a cushion on the ground, fully covered by their chador. My initial nervousness at feeling intrusive was waylaid by their beaming smiles. I could feel Nana’s gaze, too, when I was watching the television.

Tea, oranges, cucumber and cakes were laid out in front of me and I made everyone chuckle by biting a huge chunk off the end of my cucumber, instead of slicing it horizontally like a civilised person.

Thus far in Iran, someone has always taken me under their wing. The only time today that I was really alone, then, was on the metro to the bus station. But does having someone’s cheek pressed up against your own really count as being alone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.