Rob Groucutt

By robgroucutt

Red Balloon

I got a new toy today. A geeky toy - a speedlite flash for my camera - but it's still a toy. Only had a little experiment with it so far but it seems like a good investment.

You would think it would make sense to upload a blip that cleverly utilised the flash, however both of my available subjects (wife and child) have colds and didn't think it would be fair to immortalise this moment in either of their lives!

So what happened was this: Shelly (Wife) puts Liv to bed as it's her working day and they can spend some time together. I tidy the destruction downstairs created by a day of playing one or more of the following: Cars; Ball Rolling; "Let's get everything out of this box while you're busy blinking, Daddy". After tidying, there is one solitary red balloon magically returned to the centre of the floor.

I could go on about it being a sign of some sort. In truth, I just though it was random, cool and I still hadn't had a blip for today. I did use the flash though, angled upward. I also played with the built in filters on the DSLR for the first time. Mostly "meh" but one or two are interesting. This was called 'Toy Effect'.

I thought that was fitting.

Smile
Rob

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.