JMK

By JMK

Earthquake Repairs

The Canterbury Provincial Council Buildings were the buildings of the Canterbury Provincial Council that administered the Canterbury Province from 1853 until the abolition of provincial government in 1876. The buildings are the only purpose-built provincial government buildings in New Zealand still in existence. The buildings were substantially damaged in the February 2011 Christchurch earthquake, and partially demolished by the Christchurch City Council.

This building is the Bellamy's building it was the third and last set of buildings was constructed in 1864–1865. The Stone Chamber was the new meeting room for the council; it was larger than the Timber Chamber to cope with an increased size of the council. Its interior is described as provincial architect Benjamin Mountfort's most impressive achievement.
For more info.

After my physiotherapy appointment at the hospital I took a walk over to the east side of the city and had a coffee at C1. I found that not is happening on that side of the city yet apart from they have started to clean up the CTV site where 115 people were killed in the February 2011 earthquake.
For more information on the CTV site.

As I past by the Victoria Apartments I did the blip on yesterday, one of the men way up high on the 9th floor gave me a wave.. I looked around and there was one one else there ..so maybe he remembered me from yesterday! I waved back. Also a building that was coming down that I just about blipped yesterday is down now.

And another thing I noticed yesterday and again today was someone is going around putting plastic ducks in the water of the buildings that the foundations are standing and the basement has filled up with water... they look cute and you have to look twice to make sure they are not real ducks. Never seen any real ducks there so the water is most likely polluted!

It was sunny today but there was a very cold easterly blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.