andypowe11

By andypowe11

Cnicht

Our first proper walk in the mountains today, up Cnicht (689m) , which rises just behind the cottage where we are staying. Cnicht is a peak that I've never climbed before (I've done most peaks in Snowdonia, many of them several times because my family spent every school holiday in Snowdonia when I was a kid) and... well... I still haven't climbed it because when we got up there the wind was very strong and the climb very steep and we decided the whole party wasn't up to it. Probably a wise decision actually - it would probably have been quite dangerous.

So, we headed back down, had lunch at the cottage and then did a different walk in the afternoon up the other side of the valley to an old quarry. The weather turned nasty on the way back and we all got pretty wet.

This is us below the summit of Cnicht. Note how we've cleverly formed ourselves into the same shape as the peak and how I've put the camera neatly behind some tufts of grass :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.