A journey through Zogland

By Zog

The Kelpies

It was one of those dismal January days when we couldn't decide whether to go out at all, and if we did go out, where to go. Finally decided we'd go to Falkirk. Not my favourite place in the whole world, but it had a Costa Coffe, a Cafe Nero and a Waterstones, so some basic needs were catered for. It also has lots of shops, so Scamp was sorted too. After plenty of rain and shopping, I thought I'd end the day with some photos of the near-complete Kelpies. This is Andy Scott's latest piece of sculpture and looks like it uses the same construction method as Arria, but a hell of a lot bigger.

As usual, Scotland shoots itself in the foot by providing no directions to the Kelpies. I know they aren't finished yet, but one good way to generate interest is to direct visitors to the "work in progress". No, we don't do that in Scotland. We just pretend that it's not finished, so it's not there. I seem to remember it was the same when the Falkirk Wheel was nearing completion. There were no signs to tell you where it was either. Maybe once 'Wee Eck' gets his referendum passed things will change. Oh look, another flying pig.

Anyway, I did like the Kelpies. Really very impressive. It's not until you see the JCB in the bottom right that you get a sense of the scale of this venture. Worth a visit, once you track them down. I've given away the secret in the map. Hope Visit Scotland don't track me down and demand I remove it!

365/25

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.