Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Mono Monday #1

Paladian is hosting a "Mono Monday Challenge" over at her journal and so of course I can't help but participate - given that black & white takes my fancy big time. The most powerful photographs that I have ever seen have been monochrome. In my view they represent an interpretive artform that belongs to photography alone and which gives it a legitimacy that colour never can.

To my mind, the best monochromatic images reveal the primeval essentials of a picture and project them in a way which colour tends only to camouflage. The best monos are magnificent indeed. All we have to do now is work out how to recognise and produce them. In this enterprise we are ALL learners

This image is also in support of another informal challenge of sorts which has been begun by Blackheath Blippers Gemax and Isbi. It is called "Blackheath Gates".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.