Hanging on

I shot this Dandelion seed being blown around in the wind and hanging on by a tiny thread. Yesterday was a sad day when Millie decided to end our training commitment and wants to find a new coach. Her parents have told me they are grateful for me getting Millie to where she is. Millie's Mum did most of the talking and not a lot come from Millie which was a bit of a shame. Millie felt she wasn't getting fast enough soon enough and wants someone to take her to the next level and it had nothing to do with any thing we have done. Millie still wants to be able to talk to me for advice if so she does not need a new coach. Unfortunately sometimes a young athlete as in Millies case just does not understand how long it takes to become a champion. I have been working with Millie for 16 months in that time, Millie during the winter cross country season was practically undefeated in every race she ran in and the same on the road. In her first year Millie represented New Zealand Secondary Schools at the Australian Cross Country Championships and in the last month Millie become the 2nd fastest Senior School Girl over 3000m in New Zealand and 3rd fastest in the 1500m, Saturday week ago Millie got a silver medal in the New Zealand U20 womens 3000m Championships Millie is 17. Another case of impatience and youth. I wished her well and also cautioned her of what some of the other coaches will do and it won't be for her betterment only theirs and this may finish her career. I left her with what was for me the only positive statement I could make. Millie you have no idea on how good you are going to be,my door will always be open and you know where to find me. I wished her all the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.