Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Coach trip.

12.

I joined a coach tour today, to make sure I did something with my day.

I was a little unsure, at first. I tend to like ambling around a city with no aim in particular- my thoughts centred on my camera and the people I point it at. In a minibus, with other travellers, you become a collective, or a family as the chirpy tour-guide put it.

After you see one place, you're carted off to the next. The company was great, and I did learn a lot. But my mind kept wandering to thoughts of the bustling, colourful bazaar in Yazd.

One great thing happened in particular, though, besides the banter on the bus; I got to eat yellow carrots for the first time. Sweet, juicy and apparently delicious with lemon juice and salt.

This chap and his pals were harvesting them near the old, abandoned town of Kharanaq. They were to be promptly whisked off to the juice-bars of Yazd.

I washed mine in a qanat (irrigation system) by the farm, and stored them in my backpack where they'll probably be forgotten for the next few days.

That'll be a nice reminder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.