Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Drookit

Given the continuation in the run of foul weather, I wasn't really expecting to be blipping today. That was until I arrived back at the house just before lunch and found this little fellow on the ground under the glass ballustrading at our back door. He had clearly struck the glass, despite it being covered in an opaque film, and was concussed. He made no objection to being picked up and being held in the warmth of my hand.

Through the years I have learned that holding birds like this gently for 10/15 minutes and giving them a few droplets of water, gives them the chance to recover away from the threat from sparrow hawks and other predators. When this one was released it flew off into the bushes and then onto the bamboo, which was blowing about in the wind. It hung on bravely but was clearly still not 100% as it allowed me to get close with my wee compact for a few shots. However, after a minute or so it flew off again and out of sight. Hopefully it will make a full recovery!

Only on review of the blips did I notice that the poor wee thing was drookit from all the water I had given it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.