The road to heaven...

Another morning of reporting, though my head felt slow and sluggish and my fingers kept tangling the letters as I tried to type my text. This dullness was accompanied by a vague headache and intermittent sneezing, so I suspect I'm fighting off a cold.

Even though I felt achy, I decided to go for a walk after lunch, which actually helped to clear my head. After Sunday's rain the flooding has returned, though at least most of the path along the Rowing Lake was dry. The sky was mostly a sullen grey, but for a brief moment sunbeams poured through a hole in the cloud, giving the sky a rather biblical aura. I had processed this as a monochrome before I realised Paladian had suggested a mono-Monday challenge, so it had to be blipped. Unfortunately this means you have missed out on the shots of firemen playing with their giant hoses...

After a cup of tea Alex and I spent an hour or so in the garden laying a short stretch of hedge. We planted this not long after we moved in to the house, and the shrubs had now become rather tall and leggy. He's only done hedge laying once before, but made a good job of cutting through the stems, while I helped lay them gently down, so as to retain a decent strip of live cambium. I just hope that the hedge regrows now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.